Tubing fun and Peach Farm….

On a side notes to tis entry:

I worked 12 hours yesterday

I will be clocking about 14-15 hours today too

I probably will be clocking 9 hours tmr????

But I definitely will be clocking 12 hours +++ on Thursday……

ARgh!!! SOmetime, I do hate the times I am working in the “elsewhere”Going for my 3rd bowl of Pork Ribs Corn Soup, my sole motivator to work tonight…

Tubee-ing at Lake

Tubing at New Braunfels at Comal River

How can you go on a Summer in Texas without going for tubing in the spring fed waters? I really had a great time in the waters. It was a life time experience for me (especially for the non swimmer me (=_=)!!) I took a tube with a bottom. (with a life jacket for the 1st ride) So basically, I just let my tube float through the waters….In between there are rapids, that made you feel that you’re in a roller coaster ride but if you hold on tightly to the sides of your tubes, it was quite fun……..There was a whirlpool that unfortunately I got trapped but luckily my co-worker swam over with his tube to “save” me if not I think I would be circling in that pool continously.

Most of the people brought their own cooler floating behind their tube or a see through bag filled with drinks like sodas and beer being chilled by the cool spring waters….It was quite relaxing to float down the river with a drink in hand and with a bunch of friends…..enjoying the sun, the quietness of the surrounding and the drinks. Of cos, it was a feast to the eyes with all the bikini babes and topless hunks..hahaha..^_^…But do not try to do this in the hot summer mid noon sun cos you wont feel the effect till you get out of the waters. I tube from 10am – 1pm, the tan I got from tat sun lasted me for 6mths…..(but I loved it cos I got a pretty nice tan….)

Peach Farm


Explanation of the different kinds of peaches / Apple trees / The peach looked yummy

Bridget w her 1st peach / Sweet! / She’s tired

Federicksburg / Pedernales Falls State Park / HOT HOT HOT!

Settled by immigrant families from Germany in 1846, led by John O. Meusebach. Many older buildings retain traditional German styles; several units comprise National Historic District. German is still spoken occasionally, and old customs are regularly observed: Easter Fires, Schuetzen-fests (marksmanship tournaments), Oktoberfest, Weihnachten, and Kinderfest. Visitors attracted by scenic beauty, European atmosphere, historic landmarks, excellent fall and winter hunting, and famous bread and pastries

Approximately 40 percent of all Texas peaches are grown in Fredericksburg and surrounding Gillespie County, with more than 60 orchards located within the county. Peach season typically runs mid-late May – early Aug. That is why we went there for the peach plucking….

I like this little town cos it gives me a very European feeling and also of the German beers =) Good and fresh..although I always end up making the wrong choice of beers…=P Oh, the “Fire over Germany” Hot wings are excellents from the federicksburg brewery….

The Pedernales Falls State park contains 8 miles of the Pedernales River as it meanders through the limestone hill country of the Edwards Plateau northwest of Austin, and includes the falls where the waters drop 50 feet over successive limestone layers via an impressive series of cascades and pools. The river flows through a shallow, rocky canyon with much pleasant scenery. I didnt explore much of it cos it was like 38 degrees that noon and my sandlas were “melting” Imagine the friction of the rubber soles with my poor little exposed feet..Not a good combination….=1

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erika
    Apr 11, 2006 @ 10:14:08

    Your blog really reminds me of the days when I was in Texas. 😛 I also went to New Braunsfels during my time there.. but unlike you, being a student then, my friends and I were too stingy to rent tubes.. We just let the strong current float our body and man, that was the worst idea. I still remember how hurt my butt was.

  2. michaeleastside
    Apr 11, 2006 @ 11:56:12

    if i ever go Texas it would be to see if i can get on the good side of the Texas Rangers and see if they want me………u know any??

  3. xuan-er
    Apr 11, 2006 @ 18:47:13

    erika : that’s a bad idea!!

    michaeleastside: not sure =)

Leave a Reply

