Tokyo, Japan – Day 1

Cant believe that 10 days just went by and I have been back for 5 days already……Everything still felt like yesterday.

I wasn’t ready to leave Japan when I was supposed to leave, however I left with really wonderful memories (especially survivng with the body language and really broken Japanese) and learnt and gained a lot (experiences and weight too :P) from this trip and most importantly,  I followed my heart. 🙂 It was all good.

morning
Obligatory photo from the plane

flight food
I flew Delta for this flight as they allowed 2 X 23kg checked baggage (and it was the cheapest direct flight I could find in March), perfect for me to haul those Japanese rice back 😛

landing in narita
After 7 hours, I was about to land in the Land of the rising sun.

train ride
As my JR would be activated much later in the week, got the PASMO card for the initial phase of the trip and took the local trains out from Narita. It was a long long long ride out……My really bad Japanese did not really help me but after a little while, I got used to the “lost in translation” and figuring out how to take the trains.

sub urban
Sub-urban area out of the Tokyo region is really another world and it was all peaceful and quiet and seriously, I relish the cool fresh air! Yeah, the temperatures were ridiculously low for Spring weather (it was averaging 10-12 the entire time I was there and always rainy or cloudy)

spring is here
Only in places out of Singapore, you get to see pretty plants and flowers……

cola shock
New drink from Kirin, cola + alcohol (5%), it actually just tasted like cola……I wasn’t too impressed but it would be a dangerous drink especially you don’t taste the alcohol in it and you end up drinking more but I might not though since I don’t have a sweet tooth..

interesting gadget
This might sound stupid but I never saw this before and I was soooooooooooooooooo amazed by it….Basically, you just put your washed salad leaves in it, cover it up and start turning the knob and all the water would be flinged out and you get clean, dry and crispy greens! It was so fun for me! (ok, I do sound like a mountain tortoise here already right but hey it is my 1st time) On another note, everything in Japan is just so fresh from milk, to cultured milk drink to fruits to vegetables…oh my, I just miss eating there…

fancl haul
My shopping already started before I even entered the country. Thanks to すし (ありがとう!)I got the stuff I needed from Fancl via online shopping and shipped to a local address so I don’t have to carry these ridiculous amount of stuff from the store. (Now you understand why I chose to fly with Delta) 😛

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yb
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 01:42:23

    hey, their meal comes with a free xiao ding dang toy? not bad leh…

  2. Xuan-er
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 09:40:01

    lol, no I brought xiao ding dang to Japan for a vacation too ^^ you think happy meal ah? hahaha

  3. abraxis
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 22:06:03

    your first time with a salad spinner? They have those in the US too, ya know!

  4. Xuan-er
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 09:41:11

    i might have seen it b4 but i never use it…so i was thoroughly amazed and had so much fun spinning and spinning.

Leave a Reply

