Kamakura, Japan – Day 7(a)

kamakura

Kamakura is a coastal town in Kanagawa Prefecture, less than an hour south of Tokyo. Today, Kamakura is a small city and a very popular tourist destination. Sometimes called the Kyoto of Eastern Japan, Kamakura offers numerous temples, shrines and other historical monuments. In addition, Kamakura’s sand beaches attract large crowds during the summer months.

Japan Guide

i love spring
Personally, I feel that any train stations out of the major Japanese cities like Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto etc are of a much smaller scale and walking out of the station. I felt like I am back in a non-urban area again. It was such a pleasure to walk down the roads in search of the Big Buddha and looking at the small Japanese homes. Along the way admiring the flowers in their garden.

nice!
In Japan, they come in all kinds of designs…

follow the signs
Figuring out my way…..where should I go? I want to see the Big Buddha but I also want to go to wash my money at the other shrine so I can have more money but they are in opposite directions!

big Buddha
BIG won! I headed down to find the Big Buddha, admission was 200Yen. Cleanse yourself before you head in

big Buddha

The Great Buddha of Kamakura (Kamakura Daibutsu) is a bronze statue of Amida Buddha, which stands on the grounds of Kotokuin Temple. With a height of 13.35 meters, it is the second tallest bronze Buddha statue in Japan, surpassed only by the statue in Nara’s Todaiji Temple. The statue was cast in 1252 and originally located inside a large temple hall. However, the temple buildings were destroyed multiple times by typhoons and a tidal wave in the 14th and 15th centuries. So, since 1495, the Buddha has been standing in the open air.

Japan Guide

big Buddha
There was a sakura tree at a side, so I could take a photo.

big Buddha

inside
Another 20Yen if you want to go inside the Buddha. 1 thing I don’t really like was the 2 doors at the back of the Buddha that was opened to provide ventilation (I think) looks 2 wings off the Buddha’s back.

shrine
Hase-dera (長谷寺?) (known more formally as Kaikōzan Jishōin Hase-dera (海光山慈照院長谷寺?)) is one of the great Buddhist temples in the city of Kamakura in Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan, famous for housing a massive wooden statue of Kannon. – Wikipedia

Admission was 300Yen, I did not go in but the exterior of it was already very pretty. Maybe I would visit it the next time I go?

going this next time

As I was walking down the slope from Hase-dera, I noticed this white building….took a peek in and saw that it was a restaurant. Since it was lunch time and this place really looked attractive to me although the menu was a minimum 2500Yen. Alas I tried to get a seat for a single customer with my limited Japanese, I was sadly informed that the place was FULL with a “cross” sign from the server. I would definitely go back to check out this place if I have the chance again 🙂


Hasekamicho
Address:
〒248-0016
神奈川県鎌倉市長谷3-8-17

Leave a Reply

