Kobe, Japan – Day 9(b)

kobe plaisir
Really excited about the lunch place, the number of awards and certificates in the restaurants upon walking in, made me look forward to the what was in stored. Kobe beef lunch was in my “must eat” itinerary for this trip and I already put aside money for the meal way before I left for Japan. To my shock, the set lunch menu was only less than 3500 Yen!!! (OMG, the last kobe beef that I had from the package trip was so super marked up that I vowed never to have any more add items if I ever have had to join any package trips.) I saw some HK tourists in there too.

appetiser
1st up would be the appetizer consisting of a fruit vinegar that would help in beautifying the skin, grilled egg plant in sauce and I cannot figure out the other dish…

clear soup
1 of the most fresh vegetable soup I had. The server explained that the ingredients are all local produce from the Hyogo Prefecture.

kobe beef
The main star in raw form, look at the fats and meat intertwined together.

yummy!
kobe beef
After a short while, the food are ready in Teppanyaki style.

with the salad
With the salad

chicken rice
Rice can be either in garlic fried rice choice or chicken soup steam rice form.

dessert time
I thought I was done after the rice dish and was ready to go, but I got ushered to another area in English library setting for tea/coffee and dessert. I thought it was a really good idea, where you can group and serve all your customers who are done with their meals and free up the main dinning area for other customers who are waiting. Nice gesture.

interesting
Got so fascinated with this tea strainer. I never saw this design before and I love how it was designed. You place the handle on the rim of the cup and turn out the strainer to pour your tea out. After you are done, you can hang it on the handle and there is a little plate shaped piece that would collect the water droplets from the strainer. So nifty! I wanted to hunt this down to buy it home but I did not have any time to run down to the local Tokyu hands to find it!


Kobe Plaisir
Address:
Hotel “the b Kobe” 1F, 2-11-5 Shimoyamate St
Chuo-ku, Kobe 650-0011

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. monkeycrab
    May 09, 2010 @ 16:06:23

    I am drooling at the beef!!!

  2. Xuan-er
    May 09, 2010 @ 16:54:11

    it was very good but a bit too bloody though….should have ordered medium well, apparently Japan’s medium = medium raw.

Leave a Reply

