Taipei, Taiwan – Day 2(b)

long shan temple
Along the streets of the vicinity of Long Shan Temple MRT. I felt like transported at least 10 years back.

crowd
How can a visit to Taipei be without paying a visit to Din Tai Fung, this was the crowd at 1130am and I had to wait 1.5 hours to get a table for 2. Advice is to go there earlier if you happen to go to the more accessible branch like in this case the Zhong Xiao branch which was at the MRT.

din tai fung
Same decoration, same type of service, same type of food…..but was it worth the wait. It was! The rice dumpling was made with the softest and fattest portion of the pork….The spicy and sour soup comes in original flavor or more spicy version ( I peeped and saw the more spicy version was just addition of more chilli sauce). It was pretty amazing to see how much of those xiao long bao they were churning out each minute and quite a sight to see the men at work in a chain of production….

Din Tai Fung
Address:
106台灣台北市大安區忠孝東路三段300號

bi tan
Bi Tan was once Taipei top 8 tourist spots but right now, it is a popular park for the locals where they can rent boats to have leisure ride and they were many cultural activities along it.  Easily accessible by MRT to Xin dian. However, it was a photo spot for me only as I was rushing to my next stop, Wu Lai.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. abraxis
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 05:27:56

    When I visited Taipei for the first time, I wound up at the DTF on Xinyi Road. Unlike the other locations around the world, it wasn’t swish, but looked and felt more like a hole in the wall with great food. Also there was no queue. Best of all, it’s close by Ice Monster!

  2. astrorainfall
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 09:25:37

    I miss Din Tai Fung and your pix of Taipei make me wanna go visit!

  3. Xuan-er
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 19:33:58

    Tokyo is very near to Taipei, babe!
    and you can have the veggie dumplings, i got it for my noodles…was good

    did u try the dai tai fung in tokyo?

  4. astrorainfall
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 08:26:07

    Hmm… nope, actually. My friends told me the Tokyo Din Tai Fung is not that great…;-)

Leave a Reply

