Finally, I got it…

Lumix GF2
The idea of a new camera mooted almost 1 year ago, then it was like a seed buried in the back of my mind and grew and took roots. When I saw the better resolution photos from my last Japan trip, I knew I had to upgrade to a new camera which would allow me with more manual controls and yet not as bulky as a dSLR. Finally, decided on the white Panasonic Lumix GF2, micro 4/3 camera. I am not an expert in camera to provide a review. You can read them here and here. (If not, google is your best resource)

The official CM from Panasonic Japan for Lumix GF2.

Views of 白白
1 of the main feature changes for Lumix from GF1 to GF2 is that they did away with the dial control and replaced it with a touchscreen. Even though I had been a smartphone user for sometime, who would have been used to the swiping of the screen and the touch screen mode. It was (and still is) a little difficult for me to use the touchscreen features on the camera. Most of the touchscreen features however could be bypassed with the buttons at the back of the camera.

What I like with the new 14mm pancake lens, the whole camera setup is really small. Although still much larger than my Canon Ixus but it could still be easier be packed into my bag when I go out with my friends. Much as I wanted to buy the red Lumix but it was a Japanese limited edition. Buying from Japan would not be a problem except that Japanese Panasonic sets are all in Japanese and warranty may not be international….So I finally settled for the white model locally and I think I would survive better with a English menu than a Japanese one.

Casing for the new camera
Peripherals comes along after a hefty investment. Thanks to my dear friends, they got me this cute padded and waterproof cosmetic bag to double up as my camera bag. Works out fine as I can put in the camera with the 14-42mm lens attached to the camera with no issue.

Dreamer Iconic Strap
A red Dreamer Iconic camera strap from Korea. A gift from my sister and brother in law.

And I am all set to trod the world with the setup

Here’s a selection of some of the photos taken with the camera for the past 2 weeks.

food close up

food close up

Scenery Day shoot

Architecture mode night shoot

stills low light indoor

focus front and defocus back

Comparing the photos to my point and shoot, I like the depth of focus from these new photos. Only gripe is that there is a minimal focal distance with the lens so I cannot get really close up shots unless I invest in some macro lens. Overall, it was a good purchase for me but I definitely still need more time to explore the camera features.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cupcake
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 23:00:49

    I’ve been thinking about saving up for the same camera!! I’m glad you like it because now I’m mote certain I’ll get it. 😀

  2. abraxis
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 16:12:36

    Nice pix. Are they straight out of the camera, no PS or color adjustment?

  3. xuan-er
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 20:04:19

    @abraxis: photos did went thru lightroom with auto b/c

  4. Xuan-er
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 08:58:15

    @cupcake: i like it but the touchscreen def needs time to get use to =)

  5. oopslady
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 09:02:09

    i was going to buy that same camera iconic strap, but how come it seems to be such bad quality?

  6. Xuan-er
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 22:51:09

    @oopslady: I got it as a gift. I thought it wasn’t too bad…

  7. Trackback: The Royal Mail Singapore | Xuan's Howdy Days

Leave a Reply

