Tokyo, Japan – Day 1

Suica & NEX bundle
1st trip for 2011, not bad for starters that it was a smooth 7 hours ride and this time I remembered to get the alcohol Duty free 1st thing I passed the customs. (Passengers have to make sure they make their alcohol purchases 1 hours before flight time)

Upon arrival in Narita airport, it was a mad rush to the tracks to catch the NEX train to Shinjuku because the person who sold me the ticket at 210pm gave me the ticket for the train that departs at 215pm. It was not fun, running across 400m and down onto the tracks with CNY goodies and a luggage bag. For this trip, I got the Suica+NEX bundle, where you get a round trip on NEX with 1500Yen pre-loaded in your suica all for only 5500Yen (Savings of 2720Yen for me if both bought separately). The suica is re-usable for your future Japan trips and you can refund the card back (with a transaction fee involved)

on the way to TOKYO
Headed to Tokyo!

chilling out
Was already 330pm when I arrived into Shinjuku and by the time, trains were changed and met up at the final destination. I was so tired that I needed some caffeine to wake me up. I regretted the hot coffee though because the cold dry weather made my sore throat much worse. I actually stole more of his ice coffee.

美登利,渋谷
Dinner was at this famous sushi place at Shibuya Markcity, called “美登利” where there was already a huge line before it opened at 5pm. This was the line at 445pm, look at the orderly line..No rush, no push…..

chefs at work
The sushi chef at work.

Fish miso soup
1st up, fish miso soup.

Chef's sushi platter
Chef's sushi platter
An order of the chef’s sushi platter, only 2970 Yen. You would never be able to pay only about S$50 for such prenium sushi in Singapore where you get sea urchin, snow crab leg, botan ebi, fatty tunna etc….I would just let the photos do the talking on how good it was.

Scallop, fatty tuna and salmon sushi
An extra order of scallop, fatty tuna and salmon since it was so good.

Orange Jelly dessert
Orange jelly in coconut milk, not my favorite but still yummy.

Address:
東京都渋谷区道玄坂1-12-3 渋谷マークシティ RESTAURANTS AVENUE 4F

Shibuya Mark City
Did we feel that Singapore is crowded and had too many people. Wait till you go to Tokyo, especially on a weekend night.

Vday in Japan
Valentine’s in Japan is where the ladies would be all out to shower you with chocolates so every departmental stores had ladies packed and milling on the delightful chocolates that they would buy to gift to their other halves, their male co-workers and girlfriends………It was quite an amusement for me as on the contrary, ladies on our side usually are the one who received gifts on Valentine’s. Don’t ever expect anything if you happen to be dating/married to a Japanese 😛

渋谷 station
Headed back at the station which was bustling with life but I was too tired to explore the nightlife…….I just wanted to sleep. Stay tuned for Day 2 adventures.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. abraxis
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 15:49:39

    Ah, but the gals who give the chocky get chocky on White Day! So everyone gets fat eventually!

  2. Xuan-er
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 16:16:11

    @abraxis: lol, Jap chocs are fancy! I dun mind

Leave a Reply

