iPad 2

1st look
1 of the advantages being in USA was that I was there when they first released the iPad 2. I do not need another gadget but it was a fun toy and I was there and it was easily accessible with just a click of a button by ordering it online. (Nope, I was not going to wait in line in the stores when they launch it) so I ordered it online at 3am on Mar 11 (watching the CNN news update of the disaster that was happening in Japan at the same time 😦 ) Was at the store that night when I met up a couple of friends for dinner and the associates said that all stocks were snapped up within 30minutes when the store opened at 5pm for sale that day.

unboxed
The iPad 2 arrived 7 days later from apple’s manufacturing plant in China. I love that it was lighter and faster. Not the best specs but I already knew I would buy the improved Gen 2 since last year so I was giddy with the new purchase.

Flipboard
My top ipad app would be Flipboard, reading my social media updates has never been so fun, up close and personal and like flipping a digital magazine. I read most of my news and books on the ipad 2 nowadays and I am rarely touching any paper recently.

Acase
Adding on to the fortune spent was the screen protector and a casing. Acase was sturdy but it was a little too bulky as the casing was almost twice the thickness of the ipad 2.

pirated smart cover
I ended up buying another case, from taobao.com. A knockoff of the original smart cover sold by apple. The auto sleep/on feature is the same as the original smart cover but the ipad 2 sits in the pocket and so the back is protected unlike the original and most importantly it was only 1/4 the price of the original leather smart cover.

I have been using the ipad 2 for almost 2.5 months and sometimes, I do wonder if there is a need for me to have it since I already have a smart phone and a decent computer at home. But at moments of long commutes and being lazy at home (be it flights or bus rides or MRT rides) it was a much more nicer entertainment tool compared to the smartphone as it had a larger screen and the portability of it, it just won me over. Playing angry birds is much more fun now as the screen is much larger 😛

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DK
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 23:49:46

    iPad is never a need. It’s always a want 😛

  2. Xuan-er
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 14:25:39

    @DK: I agree!!! I love it too 😀

Leave a Reply

