Tokyo, Japan – Day 2

Tokyo_Nov3
We opt for the room service from a choice of Japanese set breakfast or the American breakfast. Needed something to fill up my stomach as this could be the only thing that I would eat that day. Rice was claypot rice made from a small claypot which made the rice even more fragrant. They had the orange juice in a ice bath too to keep in cold…love the details in Japan

Tokyo_Nov3
My family headed to the lobby cafe for some western buffet. For breakfast, there were a total of 3 places to choose from: Japanese set breakfast, western buffet and Japanese western in 3 locations in the hotel.

Tokyo_Nov3
From my room, I could see a busy flea market but my family went there for a morning walk as they had the morning half free before preparing for the evening reception.

Tokyo_Nov3
Small fake waterfall in the small park too.

Tokyo_Nov3
They headed to the Metropolitan office observatory for some Tokyo skyline view.

Tokyo_Nov3
Hyatt Regency Tokyo’s Hotel lobby

Tokyo_Nov3
We chose the reception to be between 4:30pm to 7:30pm so that our guests would be able to enjoy the sunset set during the reception and see the transition from sunset to twilight and the Tokyo night view.

Tokyo_Nov3
Exquisite red packets in Japan.

Tokyo_Nov3
View of our reception room from the end of it. In Japan, the wedding couple would be sitting on stage and guests would come over to take photos with them.

Tokyo_Nov3
View from the front of the reception hall. I did not eat all the delicious food that was placed on our table as we were so busy greeting guests, bowing (that is another blog entry on its own) and photo taking. These are just snippets of our Japan wedding, I plan to write something in detail later on from a perspective of a foreign bride in Japan.

Tokyo_Nov3
We finally returned to the room at almost midnight as we had a after wedding party in the hotel too where all the guests let down their hair as contrary to the prim and properness in the first formal wedding reception. The hotel had a wedding card and some snacks for us which was a godsend for us!

Tokyo_Nov3
Instead of all the yummy food, we settled for convenience store quick food. It was a great thing that there was a 7-11 just at the basement of the hotel…..

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elmer
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 09:57:41

    A-1 sunset!

  2. Beauty Box
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 23:49:17

    Yup, reminds me of my wedding when I couldn’t eat the beautiful food served to us. After our SG wedding, we ordered room service at 3am! LOL! I had some creamy pasta because I was starving…

  3. Xuan-er
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 10:03:31

    @BB : I can totally understand!

  4. HL
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 11:05:52

    Totally love the set up of the reception in Japan! Simple yet elegant! convenience food looks so gd too.

    Did I see a flea market? I want to goooo..!!!

  5. honeyrinayu
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 13:57:00

    Hi!!
    Is your Cherrykoko spree still ongoing or is it cancelled?
    I have sent in an order form but I haven’t got a reply yet 😦
    Thanks 🙂

  6. Xuan-er
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 15:21:39

    @honeyrinayu: yes ongoing, i usually send the email after I close the order, still waiting for a few more orders. Plus this weekend is a little busy 🙂

  7. Nic nic
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 00:20:03

    congrats on your wedding! Is your husband Japanese too?

    I heard a lot about these Japanese wedding ceremonies.. I never felt compelled to have a Japanese style one, taking japnese wedding pictures were enough.

  8. Xuan-er
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 21:22:19

    @Nic nic: thanks for your comment! ^_^ Yes, he is Japanese……we are the foreign halves of our Japanese husbands. haha, I can totally understand your comment! We just had a reception in Japan (minus the Shinto or Chapel services) as we had the Chinese customary in Singapore. I was totally tired from both weddings both in Singapore and Japan but we had fun. Though there was so much red-tape dealing with the hotel in Japan, that I nearly pulled my hair off 😛

Leave a Reply

