Our Singapore Wedding (in a nutshell)

It has been 3 months since the wedding in Singapore, I can’t believe that time passes so fast. I guess being apart so soon after the wedding did make it it feel that the wedding had not happened too long ago.

I finally got my hands on the photos for both the Singapore and Japan weddings so I can write proper posts about them. Since this blog of mine is mainly about the food and travel so I don’t want to bog the readers too much of what a typical Singapore wedding would be. The Singapore wedding journey would be posted on my sister’s wedding blog which she painstaking wrote with honest reviews and all. She had asked me to input my two cents worth. Hence, for details for the Singapore wedding especially on the details and reviews with the weddings vendors I had worked with, please pop over to her blog. I would also document the wedding journey from the different vendors I had gone to before settling for the ones I chose. Please pop over to My Solitaire Wedding for the detailed entries. However, I would do some posts on the Japan wedding here from a perspective of a foreign bride in Japan.

In a nutshell, we (I should rephrase as “I”) planned the wedding to be about 10 months after his surprise proposal in Singapore on Dec 17 2011. We didn’t specifically went to consult any Fengshui master for the wedding date but chose a date that would fit most of the family members’ working schedule both in Singapore and Japan. (Of course, I did went to the temple to check if the selected date was an auspicious date, still trying to play safe). It wasn’t an easy thing to plan 2 weddings in 2 countries but with a proper breakdown of responsibilities it was pretty manageable.

I personally felt that if you are focused and know your requirements/needs, 6 months is actually enough for the whole wedding preparation but of course, it boils down if you are willing to compromise on your wedding venues as some places might be already reserved in advanced. Once, we have the date of Oct 27 2012 nailed down, then it was a flurry of activities to find our wedding vendors for the big day. In fact, I was twiddling my thumbs for about 3 months as I had all my vendors booked in January and there wasn’t too much activities ongoing till nearer to the wedding date. The wedding in Singapore was quite simple with no additional frills (like musical performances/candy bars/insta-booths) so it was quite simple for me to plan. The next hair tearing moment would be the guest lists and seating arrangements just one month before the wedding. We wanted to have a wedding that was simple and fun for everyone attending the wedding and I felt that we achieved it from the smiles and laughter from our guests.

For our wedding, we selected the following vendors for our wedding day in Singapore

My Justice of Peace: Mr Teo Chong Tee

My bridal studio: Julia Wedding News

My wedding day photographer / videographer: Hwee Studios

My wedding banquet venue: Regent Hotel

My wedding lunch caterer: Rasel Catering

My wedding car rental: New Century Limousine Services.

My pre-wedding photo shoot bridal nails: Thistlebell

My wedding day bridal nails: Nailztreats

My bridesmaids dresses: Tokyo Fashion

My hen’s night accommodation: Hard Rock Hotel, Sentosa

My hen’s night activities: Tofu Bread Making and French Dinner at 133 Bistro

HW8_9016-2

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beauty Box
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 11:22:50

    It’s been 3 months since you’ve become a Mrs., eh? Great post that makes wedding planning a possible feat, even with two weddings to prep for. Simple is the best, in my opinion.

  2. Xuan-er
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 15:38:58

    @BB: thanks 🙂 dont time flies…..yeah, totally agree on the simple. we still enjoyed every bit of the wedding 🙂

Leave a Reply

