[Waseda] Spring term have ended

Woah, been a long time since any blog updates. Had been a pretty busy 2 weeks due to end of semester tests and reports, farewell dinners for those returning to their countries and busy with moving.

Can’t believe that 15 weeks of Spring semester had come and gone in a twinkle of an eye. It didn’t feel like 15 weeks of school though I have to admit the last 2 weeks was a little taxing and I can’t wait for the summer vacation to start.

CIMG1752

For this Spring semester, I took 13 credits for my modules. (we can choose a maximum of 14 credits) with a mixture of Grammar classes, Pronunciation classes, Writing classes, Specific topics discussion classes, Kanji class and conversational classes. Since my Japanese isn’t too good so I took classes mainly focusing between Level 1 – 3 (CJL’s classes ranges from Level 1 to Level 8 where Level 1 is the most basic). One of the pros of CJL is the variety of classes to choose from but the cons is that since the classes is open for most of the international students in the campus too so some times students from much higher level will register for classes that is much lower than their actual Japanese ability so as it get their Japanese credit easier. Hence, sometimes it was a little difficult for me to follow some of the discussion classes since my Japanese wasn’t too good and it was a little difficult for me to join in their fluent Japanese discussion when I am in their group.

Overall, classes were not too difficult in general if it was chosen within your own levels but you have to do a lot of homework and self-preparation if you want to make your learning more beneficial. Of course, spending time to revise properly. However, there are days when I got a little lazy and hence I feel that my reading and writing had improved but my spoken Japanese haven’t improved much yet. (Maybe it is due to my poor linguistic ability) 😛

Hopefully, when I return to classes end September for the fall semester, I won’t forget what I had learnt. With this, I would start my 9 weeks summer vacation of which I would be spending most of my September in Singapore. 🙂

Vacation starts!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beauty Box
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 21:25:39

    Congrads on finishing your first semester! 🙂 Sounds challenging indeed… I’m sure you’ll be rejuvenated from your holiday. I always need a break from learning Japanese and when I return, my interest gets fired up more easily.

  2. Xuan-er
    Jul 29, 2013 @ 22:05:39

    @Yuming: thanks! it was so tough towards the last 2 weeks and I was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo tired from so much Japanese…..can’t wait for my vacation 🙂

Leave a Reply

