Laduree Salon de the, Ginza Mitsukoshi (ラデュレ サロン・ド・テ 銀座三越店)

laduree
Since Laduree opened its doors in Tokyo a few years ago, I had always wanted to visit it but didn’t have the opportunity. (They have now opened one salon in Singapore too!)

laduree
Since it is the summer vacation, I have time and I was in the vicinity with my classmate who was game to try this place with me. So we headed to the really grand and expensive Mitsukoshi departmental store (yeah, the things sold here are simply too expensive for a poor student like me)

laduree
I was expecting a crowd but we came when it just opened for business for the day and so I could quickly snap some shots before the server stop me again (Laduree is really strict with photography, they stopped me a few times when I was trying to take photos of the interior)

laduree
Anyway, let our little 2 hours indulgence begin and pretend that I am in France for a little while.

laduree
The main main reason on my ardent intent to come to Laduree isn’t for their macarons but the cute little strawberry cake!

laduree
I wanted to the afternoon tea set (available for 2 and above, 3150JPY per person) to be served in a 3 tier dish with 4 pieces of sandwiches, 2 cakes of your choices and 4 macarons and drinks of your choices but my classmate wasn’t interested in coming here to eat sandwiches. So we go the lunch set comprising of a entree, cake of your choice and drink of your choice instead (3750JPY per person)

laduree
You can choose entree of the day or any other entree off their menu. We both chose the grilled duck since duck meat isn’t commonly found in local supermarkets. The skin was crispy and full of flavor but the duck meat was a little too undercooked, other wise it was a delicious meal.

laduree
Of course, I ordered this strawberry shaped cake and I loved it. I always have a soft spot for mousse cake with a tinge of sour and this just hit me on the spot. Not to forget its cute exterior too.

laduree
The raspberry cake that my classmate ordered.

laduree
Sitting there, chatting, drinking tea and digging into the cake. Moments to savor, moments of enjoyment. These are the little moments of luxury that gives me a little smile. Looking around me, the crowd was 95% ladies on a weekday afternoon. At that moment, I sent a message to my Sushi-san to say “thanks” because at that moment he probably is working hard while I am taking a little stolen moment of luxury 🙂

laduree
Of course, appreciation doesn’t stop here. I bought some macarons home for him to try out. He just raised his brows and asked “I thought you would only buy 2 for me” hahahah, I said isn’t it better that I brought them back in a box? If I had just bought 2, they probably had shattered along the long train ride 🙂

laduree
Therefore, he had a little coffee session at home too, with a cup of coffee, macarons and some Godiva chocolates. Life is fair, isn’t it

Address:ラデュレ サロン・ド・テ 銀座三越店東京都中央区銀座4-6-16 銀座三越 2F

monsters inc, japan way
The main reason we were in Nihonbashi area was to visit a arts exhibitions of monsters and ghosts through the Japanese era. It was a interesting exhibition to look at the depiction of ghosts and monsters from the Japanese perspective. Found this cute origami book from the souvenir shop which my classmate bought.

monsters inc, japan way
if you follow their instructions and fold each ghost/monster with the printed paper provided, you would add 24 mini-ghosts/monsters at home. The cover of the book can be used as the backdrop for these cute paper ghosts/monsters

Leave a comment