Tim Ho Wan

I was back in Singapore for about 3 weeks in September for my summer vacation. Besides spending time with my family, I was busy catching up with different groups of friends and when we say “catch up” it literally means going (almost) around Singapore to eat. Besides my favorite food places, I also got to check out some new places. The next few entries would be on some of the places that I kinda like.

tim ho wan
So, I guess most people would have waited in line for this famous Hong Kong dim sum eatery, Tim Ho Wah, by now? I visited their Toa Payoh branch and our wait was about 20 minutes at about 230pm on a regular weekday. (Not sure what is their wait time for their PS branch but I heard it is pretty long wait usually)

tim ho wan
This is essentially their menu and you are literally sitting side by side with other patrons just like any other Hong Kong eatery if you had visited Hong Kong cafes in Hong Kong.

tim ho wan
Pan fried carrot cake, one of their heavenly kings items, which is also the texture that I like. Crispy on the outside, soft and creamy inside.

tim ho wan
Steamed egg cake is really fluffy too but it tasted like most steamed egg cake in my opinion.

tim ho wan
This is highly recommended! The texture of the bun is simple amazing, it is almost instantaneously melt in your mouth with some sugary powder feel. I think the bun is more delisous than the filling itself. hahaha

tim ho wan
We had 2 portions of the cheong fun and on the left would be their recommneded cheong fun which have pork liver as its filling. If you are a fan of the pork liver, I would think you would like this. Overall, their cheong fun skin is really thin which is something I prefer in the cheong fun I eat too 🙂

tim ho wan
Century egg congee

tim ho wan
Deep fried bean curd skin with prawns.

tim ho wan
Another highly recommended item, if you like osmanthus flower. Osmanthus flower jelly for dessert if you like to have a whiff of the flower fragrance lingering in your mouth.

Address:Tim Ho WahERA Centre Toa Payoh 450 Lorong 6 Toa Payoh #02-02

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mommy Chuck
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 10:31:20

    Yums! 20 min sounds like a reasonable waiting time, I should try it on a weekday!

  2. Xuan-er
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 16:09:42

    @mummy chuck: yup! 1-2 hours is too much for me to wait unless I can do some shopping while waiting.

Leave a Reply

