[Waseda] Farewell reception for International Students

CJL Farewell Party
We had our welcome reception, so now in a twinkle of an eye we had our farewell reception but not as fancy as when we had our welcome reception.

CJL Farewell Party
It was a small reception in school with catered food and drinks, game of bingo with Waseda memorabilias and of course, lots of hugs, handshakes and photo taking.

CJL Farewell Party
Even though, this was a 1 year Japanese program but minus off all the school vacations and university off days, I was only in school barely for 8 months. Did my Japanese improve significantly? It did improve but not as much as I wanted but the school environment did stirred a lot of university life memories for me. This was also the opportunity for me to make many international friends from all over the world, I guess the experience was more memorable for me than the actual Japanese language learning.

CJL Farewell Party
Like any other college students, we continued our night…..further ….with more drinks 😛

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jia
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 14:41:13

    Hi sheyxx,

    Good day!
    I bumped into your blog while researching on bekka school and normal japanese language school.

    I got accepted into Waseda 2014 Fall. But im in dilemma… 😦

    I read your blog saying you did not improve as much as you wanted.
    My main purpose to at least get into a conversational level. I am able to read and write but not able to converse basically in japanese which is my problem.

    I am not sure if going into waseda bekka improve or a normal japanese language school could help with my problem personally.

    Does waseda host Japanese conversation session?
    Do you communicate with local students often ?

    I would love to hear your advice.
    Looking forward for your kind reply.

    Regards,
    JIA

  2. Xuan-er
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 19:03:42

    @jia: thanks for your comment. I think whether you improve or not, really depends on individual. I think language sch is good if you have no foundation and they really drill you daily with mini quizes in class. In waseda, there are like almost 300 over classes for you to choose from (of cos there are hits and miss classes) so it really depends on how you choose. I have friends who entered waseda like N5 level but left after 1 year with a N2/N3 pass. I guess it is how much you are willing to study and how much effort you put in. However, most students are actually maximizing their 1 year in Japan so it is play hard and study hard in most cases.
    I guess you would only interact with local students if you join in the circles (like CCAs) if not you would mainly be in the international building with all the international students.
    They have classes for people with zero Japanese or low level classes. Of course, there are conversaional classes, the problem is how you choose and like I mentioned before there is the problem of really good students who choose easy class just to get credits so it was a bit tough when you partner with them in class.
    I felt that I din improve as much as I wanted mainly is because I did not study that hard but I did make improvement especially to my listening and reading.
    It is not cheap to study in Waseda, but I did not regret going as I had an enjoyable year in school and met many international students. I am currently doing a 3 months with a language school and it is a totally different environment compared with Waseda. It is really like a tuition centre feel.

    So it is really up to what you like and want. Waseda was fun!

  3. SHIJIA
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 10:10:19

    @sheyxx:
    Hi, Thank you very much for your reply and advice.
    I sincerely appreciate it a lot.

    Wow, thats quite a big improvement from N5 to N3 level.

    I agree it is not cheap to study in waseda, that is why i need to think through clearly. 😦
    And i was planning to at least find a part time job there. But i doubt so waseda suppports this. Does any of your friends does this?

    Language school has it’s benefit of drilling, but i am afriad the downside is if i happen to be in a class full of taiwanese and chinese, i would end up communicating in chinese instead of japanese.

    I am weighing the pros and cons. But like you said it is up to individual on effort and motivation.

    once again, thank you so much for your advice. 🙂
    ほんとに有難うございました

    With regards,
    JIA

  4. Xuan-er
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 15:43:49

    @jia: you are welcome. Alot of students in langauge school could pass N1 at the end of 1.5 – 2 years of course. Some of my waseda friends took N2 after 9 months of class. You would improve alot of if you choose much harder classes since you have to study extra hard. I did a normal pace of following my own study pace so I am only taking N2 this coming July. Yeah, you can find part time jobs by yourself or on the notice boards in school. Most of the time, students find part time in restaurants or shops. It all really depend on how well you can speak. I did not find a part time job so I don’t know much about it. But if you work, you would improve your spoken Japanese by leaps and bounds.
    *grin* actually I spoke mainly Mandarin/English outside of the classrooms cos most of the students in Waseda were from China, Taiwan and Korea. I don’t speak much Japanese except in class. Maybe if you can make more Japanese friends that you can get to practice Japanese.

  5. Jia
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 22:53:34

    @sheyxx thank you very much for your advice.

    How was your timetable like?
    Was there classes everyday ?

  6. Xuan-er
    Jun 13, 2014 @ 14:34:12

    @jia: it is structured like studying in university, you arrange your own timetable with the classes you like. Depends on how you arrange your time. I have class mon to sat with 1 free day in between.

Leave a Reply

