Kyushu (Yufuin) – Day 2(a)

Beppu
Since it was too hot in my tiny capsule, I decided to wake up early and head out early to Yufuin, 60 minutes by bus from Beppu. The bus stop was just 3 minutes from the hotel.

Yufuiin
It was a lucky decision to head out early cos I arrived at Yufuin Train station under the pouring rain so I bought myself some bread and hot coffee to wait out the heavy rain.

Yufuiin
Some of the shops were already open at 8am.

Yufuiin
The Yufuin Mountain.

Yufuiin
Yeah! The rain stopped at 9am, better head out before it pours again. The air is so fresh and wet…love it.

Yufuiin
creating a mystical feel?

Yufuiin
fish shaped slippers.

Yufuiin
if you love mountain ranges, I think Yufuin is a great place to visit during the cool weather as it is very serene and lots of good food. (A little touristy though)

Yufuiin
The streets are still empty as the truckloads of tourists have yet to arrive.

Yufuiin
German cream cheese cake that I found along the way, looks too tempting not to stop to check it out.

Yufuiin
on my stroll, admiring different views.

Yufuiin
Kinriko (金鱗湖) is a little cloudy today but the fog just adds another mysterious feel.

Yufuiin
The french looking building houses a famous restaurant at that area, would want to check it out in the future.

Yufuiin
Water is so clear that you can see the fishes swimming inside.

Yufuiin
Almost thought that you are in European alps

Yufuiin
Some summer flowers.

Yufuiin
isn’t this beautiful?

Yufuiin
I didn’t think I was in Japan.

Yufuiin
Rice field.

Yufuiin
lots of day use hot springs for you to choose from, you can ask for recommendation at the travel center at the train station. However, I had already decided to go to this really far one, almost 40 minutes on foot on the hills

v
I was so tired when I arrived and I can’t wait to soak myself in this cobalt hot spring. Unfortunately, the hot water at the bathing area was not working so I could only do a quick wash up before soaking in this hot spring. The water temperature is not too hot so I could stay in it for 20 minutes. I was lucky again as it started raining cats and dogs again……

Yufuiin
Waited out for the rain to stop before I started my 40 minutes walk back to Yufuin Station.

Yufuiin
If only I could sip my coffee here….

Yufuiin
Kiwis?! Planted right outside someone’s home too.

Yufuiin
Decided to have some chicken ramen since it was a little cold that day.

Yufuiin
They grilled the chicken with gas flames with chicken soup stock ramen.

Yufuiin
Yuzu pepper is recommended to add more flavors into your soup.

Address:福助大分県由布市湯布院町川上3052-3

Yufuiin
Snoopy themed cafe, for Snoopy lovers.

Yufuiin
Totoro themed shop was also spotted and packed with tourists.

Yufuiin
Such a stark contrast to the empty streets this morning.

Yufuiin
The most famous cream roll cake in Yufuin, B Speak. The roll cakes are usually sold out by 1-2pm. When I entered the shop at 11am, the 1 piece roll cake was already sold out. They only had about 40 boxes of the full roll cake available. You can place your name down to make a reservation informing them what time you would pick it up so you don’t need to carry it with you till you leave.

Yufuiin
An additional 250JPY for this ice bag so that the cake can be chilled.

Yufuiin
You can also request the staff to help you cut the full roll cake, which cuts into a perfect 4 pieces for us. It was really delicious, the strong egg fragrance filled your senses when you open the box up. Yummy.

Address:B-speak大分県由布市湯布院町川上3040-2

Yufuiin
If you don’t really care about eating the number 1 cake, there are a lot of roll cakes shops in Yufuin so you would be spoiled for choice. This shop near the station claims to be the number 3 roll cake in Yufuin so you can check it out too.

Yufuiin
Art made with paper boxes.

Yufuiin
Yufuin Cider made with waters from this area, tasted like 7-up.

Yufuiin
A short day trip, which made me wants to come back here again in future for an overnight stay. From Yufuin, you can take a 2 hours bus back to Hakata…..

Leave a Reply

