Oh, I get to vote leh…….

May 6th 2006, is election day in Singapore. Today is the nomination day and the place I am staying is contested…So I will join my peers to be the FIRST TIME voters…..

This year seems like a lot of opposition contested the ruling party that the ruling party, PAP, did not return to power at the end Nomination Day proceedings. This is the first time the PAP has not been returned to power on Nomination Day since the 1988 General Election. The PAP is campaigning on securing a future together with all Singaporeans in an inclusive society. It has challenged the opposition to engage it on the issues.

As a 1st time voter, my feelings are quite mixed. This is cos I stay in a GRC, hence we must have a 5 men team in which at least 1 Malay in the group to contest in my area. The opposition is fielding a 5 men team in which I think are mostly 1 time contesters and no experience in caring for a ward. Who will win? =1 We’ll see though I really can feel who is going to win. However, if I stay in a single-member constituency ward, maybe the battle will be more intense?

I drove ( in the dark again!!!!) back from work and saw that all the lamp posts had the ruling parties logos tied on and pictures of all the 5 man team who would be contesting in my ward. A mini lorry with a loud speaker from the ruling party was making its rounds the estate……Any sign of the photos? slogans? Party sign? of the opposition along the way?? NOPE, not a single one……Seems like the ruling party, stepped in to action once they confirmed of the opposition presence coming to contest.

Cant believe that I would be WAKING UP at 7am coming Monday….to spend my MAY DAY holiday in Sentosa for my company’s family day…….8am to reach the MRT station to catch the bus to Sentosa loh…..It is a holiday leh…..Sigh, but who ask me to go right? I doubt I will be going around the islant much cos family day ends at 230pm!!!!! i probably will be at the place they set up for the family till the end cos I wan to wait for the lucky draw mah! =P
This year’s theme is Matrix….They even got 1 guy and 1 gal to dress up like the characters from the movie to promote the event last week in the company. “Neo” was quite handsome..(Is the main lead, Neo???)

Gosh, I am simply burnt out this week….4 straight days of working late..CAnt believe it and I still need to stay late tonight to settle the issue…..But since I am going to the airport at 1130pm so it is fine lah….=) Mum’s back =)) Miss her man…….Btw, I had done the laundry, swept the floor and mopped the floor ^^v